Log in for full access.

USF Home | USF Directory | myUSF

ASK a Librarian

Monday-Thursday : 9am – 6pm
Friday : 8am – 5pm
Saturday & Sunday : Closed

Archive for the ‘Databases’ Category

 

Access to IEEE database sporadic

Wednesday, October 31st, 2012 | Tags: ,
Posted in Databases by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

Access to IEEE XPlore is sporadic. Here is an update from them:

“Central NewJersey where we are based, is in bad shape; there is no power. The operations center remains closed. We are attempting to do a “failover” of Xplore to our backup site in Arizona. The power failure is a challenge.”

New electronic resource: National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-1994

Monday, October 29th, 2012 | Tags: , ,
Posted in Databases, New resource by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

The USF Libraries has purchased a real treasure when it comes to the National Geographic Magazine Archive. Every page and photograph of every issue from 1888-1994 is fully searchable either issue by issue or by using the basic or advanced search features. The latter allows searches by keyword, subject, place-name, and more with limits including Magazine Section, Image Type, and Publication Date. Tabs include a separate image search and graphing tool. Users can track subject trends by charting year, number of published articles, maps, advertisements, and more on any topic. Citation tools are built into the entries, as is the option of exporting references to citation management systems like RefWorks or EndNote. Images load quickly and their quality is good. Gale has also announced a forthcoming National Geographic Virtual Library which will feature magazine issues from 1995 forward and a new virtual reference collection with books, maps, videos, images and National Geographic Traveler magazine (2010-current).

You can access this resource and many more from the USF in Lakeland Library’s home page, under “Research Tools – Databases by Title”.

Downtime for ScienceDirect coming up

Wednesday, August 15th, 2012 | Tags: ,
Posted in Databases by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

The ScienceDirect and other products from publisher Elsevier  are expected to be offline and unavailable for approximately 19 hours beginning Saturday, August 25th for scheduled maintenance. The downtime will be from 7:30 AM EDT Saturday, August 25th to 2:30 AM EDT, Sunday, August 26th.

This update promises a new design for journal article and book chapter pages as well as improved user experience for RSS feeds, image search, and other features for ScienceDirect.

Website in maintenance – direct links to library services

Friday, July 13th, 2012 | Tags: ,
Posted in Databases, Faculty, Services, Staff, Students by Diane Fulkerson | 1 Comment »

We are working on a new website. We apologize if some links are not working correctly.

We are listing direct links to the catalog, databases, e-journals list and interlibrary loan here for convenience:

Please remember that you have to sign through my.usf.edu (Blackboard) or the VPN to use the electronic resources from off-campus. In Blackboard, look for the USF Libraries tab.

You can also use the Tampa Library’s website at: http://www.lib.usf.edu/

New ProQuest interface

Wednesday, April 4th, 2012 | Tags:
Posted in Databases by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

The USF Libraries have switched some of the databases by vendor ProQuest to a new interface this week. Those databases include ABI-Inform, Hoover’s Company Profiles, ERIC, AGRICOLA, MEDLINE, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, among many others.

Some databases still have the old interface available (like ABI-Inform) but expect them to be switched to the new format soon. The Cambridge Scientific Abstracts databases will be phased out in a similar manner (ERIC, AGRICOLA, MEDLINE, etc.)

To learn more about the new interface, come see your Poly librarian or take a look at the ProQuest training materials.

EBSCO databases down

Tuesday, March 27th, 2012 | Posted in Databases by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

The EBSCO databases are currently down for all users. EBSCO have told us they will remain that way for another two hours at least (until 4PM).

Some of our EBSCO databases include Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, Criminal Justice Abstracts, EconLit, Education Full Text, OmniFile Full Text Mega, one version each of ERIC and PsycINFO, among other.

We apologize for the inconvenience.

Credo Reference down for maintenance

Friday, February 10th, 2012 | Tags:
Posted in Databases by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

On Friday, February 10th, from 11PM to 3AM EST, Credo Reference will be unavailable because of routine maintenance work.

Credo Reference provides access to one hundred reference resources, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and biographical sources chosen to meet a broad range of research needs.

Wikipedia blackout tomorrow

Tuesday, January 17th, 2012 | Tags: , , ,
Posted in Databases, Services by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

Wikipedia is going offline for 24 hours – starting at 12:00 a.m. Eastern on January 18th.

Why? And, importantly, what can you do if you need to do research?

Why is Wikipedia going offline? In a statement released January 16, 2012, Wikimedia Foundation Executive Director, Sue Gardner explained, “The blackout is a protest against proposed legislation in the United States — the Stop Online Piracy Act (SOPA) in the U.S. House of Representatives, and the PROTECT IP Act (PIPA) in the U.S. Senate — that, if passed, would seriously damage the free and open Internet, including Wikipedia.”

We know Wikipedia is a quick source to look up facts. However, the Library has many other authoritative sources for factual and reference information. You can access them from campus or from home.

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    Includes the complete, renowned, encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and the Britannica Book of the Year. You can also use EB Online to search an Internet directory that includes more than 130,000 links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.
  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Researcher covers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and more.
  • Credo Reference
    This database provides access to 100 reference resources that allows you to search across all content.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Search some of the most used reference sources in this database. Titles cover political science, law, education, nursing, social sciences, publishing, zoology, history, and religion.

Never limit yourself to one source for your information and explore all the resources the Library offers you. And remember, we are here to help!

New electronic resources in English: British Periodicals Collection II and ECCO II

Monday, October 10th, 2011 | Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in Databases, New resource by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

In a first-ever development, the USF Department of English and the USF Libraries have jointly purchased two significant collections: British Periodicals Collection II and Eighteenth Century Collections Online II. They are now available online and bring additional depth to our research collections.

British Periodicals Collection II

British Periodicals Collection II from ProQuest consists of more than 300 journals from the UMI microfilm collections English Literary Periodicals and British Periodicals in the Creative Arts, amounting to almost 3 million pages published from 1681 through 1939. Topics covered include literature, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture. The British Periodicals series traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through the Victorian age of periodicals and beyond. The collection offers new ways of exploring the inaccessible, neglected or forgotten writings that formed their original contexts. A wide array of different types of periodical are represented, from magisterial quarterlies to coterie art periodicals, penny weeklies and illustrated family magazines. Major figures featured in British Periodicals II with either essays, serialized versions of texts, original stories/poems, or letters include: Oscar Wilde, Alfred Lord Tennyson, Bram Stoker, John Stuart Mill, Samuel Johnson, Arthur Conan Doyle, Charles Dickens, Daniel Defoe, Lewis Carroll, Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Thomas Hardy, Joseph Conrad, Rudyard Kipling, and George Eliot.

British Periodicals II is also accessible via ProQuest’s Periodicals Archive Online, also held by the USF Libraries, where it is fully cross-searchable with other Periodicals Archive Online content.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online II

Eighteenth Century Collections Online II (ECCO II) from Gale adds approximately 50, 000 new titles totaling more than six million new pages of content to the ECCO collection. Source materials are found in the British Library, Oxford University, Cambridge University, National Library of Scotland, Library of Congress, among others. Includes titles recently uncovered by the English Short Title Catalogue, including some that are extremely fragile. With content from an eclectic variety of materials, including books, directories, bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Part II offers full-text search capabilities supported by comprehensive metadata. ECCO II is searchable with ECCO on a new user interface with enhanced functionality. Includes the ability to save marked items, enter notes, and search across sessions. There is a Research Guide section with contextual essays and a chronology for undergraduates and an image gallery and key documents sections. Users also have the option of performing cross-searches against ProQuest’s Early English Books Online, another resource held by the USF Libraries.

For these and other resources consult http://poly.usf.edu/library. Click on “Search the databases” to begin.

Gartner: IT products, resources and trends information

Friday, September 16th, 2011 | Posted in Databases, Website of interest by Diane Fulkerson | No Comments »

The USF System has partnered with Gartner, a leading IT research company, to provide access to their extensive resources and information on best practices, trends and emerging technologies in Information Technology. Content includes market analysis, statistics, and forecasts; industry information on the following industries: banking and investment services, education, energy and utilities, government, healthcare providers, insurance, manufacturing, media, and retail; and critical issue reports that include: outsourcing, open source, emerging trends and technologies, mobile and wireless, and laptops and hand-held devices.

Features of this resource include: the Hype Cycle which helps identify the appropriate timing for IT investments; the Magic Quadrant which helps visualize how major competitors stack up in a given marketplace; and an email alerting service that pushes the latest research to your email.

Not just for IT professionals or students, this online resource is useful for any person or unit looking to get more information about a new technology or software.

The Gartner resources are available to all USF faculty, staff and students through the USF Libraries catalog (direct link to the title) or through this link. You may be required to log in with your NetID.

 

(813) 974-2729  4202 E. Fowler Ave. LIB122 Tampa FL 33620  Home  News & Events  © Copyright 2014